catching up with FMA – ch. 80-85

February 27, 2009 at 4|51|am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Spoiler warning!

Oh my GOD.  So much stuff’s been happening lately that it isn’t even funny.  First there’s Al and Hoho (er, Hohenheim…) meeting up again, which was a bit weird.  Especially because the brothers have totally different ways of responding to their dad.

Then there’s the Greed 2.0 subplot.  Oh my god I was speechless through this entire thing, except for a whole lot of squeeing when I noticed Martel in one of the flashback panels.  I love that girl. 🙂  And his fight with Bradley was pretty awesome.  KUNG FU TIME!  And of course, Selim’s being his usual sneaky self.

On a more shallow note, Ed looks really good with his hair down.  Actually, Ed always looks good.

And there was no shortage of moments for my favorite pairings, either.  Ed and Winry are adorable and obvious no matter what situation you put them in (and it’s even better if it’s awkward and – well, just read the chapter where Winry comes back home.  It’s awesome) and of course, there were a few nice little moments with Roy and Hawkeye as well.  I’ll just say that Riza always pays attention to the man behind the curtain. 😀  Ed/Winry is pretty much canon by now, but you have to look for hints of Roy/Riza every chance you get.  (Did you notice that when Rebecca was groaning about how all men were jerks, she said that she wanted Riza to set her up with a nice man, not that they should both find nice men?  Hmm.)  Damn it, if these two don’t reveal that they’ve been hooking up all along get together by the end of the series, I know one cow-loving manga-ka who is getting a piece of my mind.

There was a pretty great moment with Roy and Olivier, too.  He brought her a bouquet of hyacinths (with an encoded message, of course) and then told her:

Do you know what the word “hyacinth” means?  Feminine grace and beauty.

To which Olivier replied:

…I DON’T NEED YOUR STINKIN’ FLOWERS!

Good times, good times.

This series is… yeah, it’s beyond awesome.  I thought that the plot started sucking around chapter 65 or so, but it’s getting awesomer and awesomer lately.  Maybe I’m biased, considering how emotionally attatched I am to the characters, but this is one of my favorite manga.  Ever.

Also, Selim Bradley is a BADASS.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.